forty-six

Emma thought some more. Izzy was waiting, and she seemed suddenly interested too, as if she’d become caught up in this silly game without quite meaning to be. That made Emma feel like she ought to try harder, that she ought to say something which mattered, so she sat there, thinking hard, but still couldn’t think of a single thing.

She looked at Izzy’s expectant face, and was a little disappointed at herself.

“I’m sorry,” she said. “I really can’t think of a thing.”

“Can I help? Make suggestions?”

“Yeah okay. Go on.”

Izzy thought. “Something to do with sex?”

“Nope,” Emma said. “That’s never embarrassing.”

“Liar.”

Emma started laughing. “I know.”

“So tell me something?”

Emma shook her head.

“Okay,” Izzy said. “So how about something from when you were drunk once? So drunk you did something completely stupid?”

Emma shook her head.

“You’ve never been that drunk?” Izzy said, sounding surprised.

“Well yeah, of course…”

“So what happened?”

“Well, how would I know?” Emma said. “I was drunk, remember. I forgot.”

